L&F Funds Update – September 2015

We are now starting to spend the Loaves & Fishes money.  Some of the projects that you approved in June are straightforward and require little involvement from the congregation. Others are more complex and require committees and sub-committees. If you are interested in working on any of these projects you should contact myself (ccdkeparnell@sbcglobal.net) or the leaders of the different projects listed below.

The L&F money is in a separate checking account so that it is not mixed with other LSC money.  The Elder Board and the Property & Finance committee have established procedures for formally  requesting release of the money.  I’ll continue to provide you with regular updates about each of the projects. Following is a brief summary of where things stand today.

_______________

* LaSalle Neighbors – Staff Lead: Oreon Trickey (otrickey@lasallestreetchurch.org)

  • Initial committee is formed. 
  • Planning is underway.

_______________

* Art on Sedgwick – Lay Leader:  Charlie Branda (charlie@artonsedgwick.org)

  • All funds delivered to Art on Sedgwick in early August.
  • Build-out of their storefront space has begun.                                                 
  • Pilot art classes planned for this fall

_______________

* Financial Wellness Partnership with CGLA – Staff Lead:  Laura Truax                              (ltruax@lasallestreetchurch.org)

  • Steering committee having its first meeting with CGLA staff this month.

_______________

* Renovations to Cornerstone Center – Staff Lead:  Laura Truax                                          (ltruax@lasallestreetchurch.org)

  • Initial assessment of Leslie Hall usage underway

_______________

* Femi Adeleye/Institute for Christian Impact – Lay Leader:  Todd Zoellick                        (tzoellick@gmail.com)

  •  Met with Femi and discussed steps necessary to get institute off the ground

_______________

*  World Vision’s One Acre Miracle in Tanzania – Lay Lead:  Chris Campbell                     (chris.campbell3@sbcglobal.net)

  • Will soon send check to WV along with letter emphasizing our                             differences regarding their policy on inclusiveness

_______________

* Low Cost Fund – Staff Lead:  Colin Knapp (cknapp@lasallestreetchurch.org)

  • Committee is formed and criteria established

_______________

* Travel Fund – Lay Leader:  Ami Campbell (ami.campbell@sbcglobal.net)

  • Procedures and criteria for reviewing requests established

_____________________________________________________________

Loaves & Fishes Total Amount:    $1,440,000

Amount Disbursed to Date:                                                                                                                                 Art on Sedgwick – $25,000 

Amount remaining:                         $1,415,000

~ Karl Lauger,  L&F Liason

Screen Shot 2015-09-04 at 7.00.03 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *